The 10 books that pushed me forward (for good or bad)

This is a top 10 list of sorts – Not of great reads or of books that I think everyone should own, but of books that pushed me forward religiously speaking.  Some weren’t good, and some I would suggest to stay far away from, but nonetheless here they are.

I thought it would be fun to revisit some of these and riff a little about them. The first 5:

 

 

1. Celtic Magic by D.J. Conway

This book was the first book that I ever picked up regarding Magic(k).  It had a great cover, and went over some Wicca basics. At the time I really liked it, and it gave some things to try and think about.  It didn’t take long however, as I read more books and myths, to realize that most of the book is hogwash and very poorly researched.  The cover is still nice, though.

2. Circles, Groves and Sanctuaries: Sacred Spaces of Today’s Pagans by the Campanellis

A book which showed me that what I was interested in and experimenting with wasn’t odd or fanciful, there were actually “normal” people involved.  When this book hit the shelves, I realized it would be part of my collection for a long time, and there it sits.  This was a remarkable book when it was published.  Included are pictures of sacred spaces along with narration by those who use the spaces.

3.  Earth, Air, Fire & Water by Cunningham

This is a spell book.  Though I never considered myself a witch or a Wiccan, it gave me an insight as to how to manipulate reality by using simple natural configurations.  Not that I used it too much, I found it more useful as a reference for how magic(k) could be a simple act with limited tools and lots of intention.  I’ve actually purchased this book twice.  I think however it was given away a few years ago.  I might get another copy someday.  It’s companion is Earth Power and is just as good.

4.  Way of Wyrd by Brian Bates

Though this book is a little dated now, back nearly 20 years ago it really opened my eyes.  It was more or a less an Anglo-Saxon answer to Carlos Casteneda’s Don Juan books, but in it’s pages was wisdom about my ancestors and maybe how they saw things.  It is fiction based on historical dosuments, but it’s honest about it, which is more than I can say for Carlos’ works.  I’ve been meaning to read this again…soon.

5.  Druids by Ellis

What a surprise.  I’ve always been interested in Druids and this book fed my curiosity.  Still a great read on the topic and one that I cherish, bent pages and highlights throughout.  It is little skewed toward the Druids as humble and truth loving, and the author tries his best to ignore the human sacrifice issue, but overall full of good stuff.

.

The next 5 coming soon….

—————-
Now playing: DuesEx 06 – Cairo Mosque [foobar2000 v1.0.3]
via FoxyTunes

2 Replies to “The 10 books that pushed me forward (for good or bad)”

  1. Thanks for sharing some of your book titles! I’d like to get a copy of:

    “2. Circles, Groves and Sanctuaries: Sacred Spaces of Today’s Pagans by the Campanellis,”

    so I can check out several perspectives on altar and shrine building.

    I picked up a couple of books at Coas used book store in Las Cruces a few days ago, uncertain of one of the authors, thought I’d take a chance and check it out even so.

    “Becoming the Enchanter” by Lyn Webster Wilde
    and
    “Celtic Saints” by Nigel Pennick

    I think I may have possibly heard of Lyn Webster Wilde, however, no idea of the reviews. I’ll be looking it up shortly. The covers also has on it, “A Journey to the Heart of the Celtic Mysteries,” though it looks like the retelling of some of the Celtic Myths.

    Pennick has written a few other books I have on my shelf, one I believe is also entitled, “The Druids”, which is another version of material regarding Druids. In fact, I believe there are more books out with that title. Of course, it’s just good to try to follow those well researched, when possible, unless you’re aiming to dilate your imagination.

    I hoped to look through the “Celtic Saints” to find out what Pennick has to relate. I was glad to see he talks about the transition of Paganism to Christianity era. I’ve always been amazed about the layers put upon cultures and their lives, influenced by politics and philosophies of the times. This portion of history, a huge turning point in civilization as we know it, has astounded me.

    My thoughts right back at cha.
    Be well,
    Polarity

    1. I think I’ve read Pennick’s book on Druids. Celtic Saints sounds like a good read…you’ll need to let me know how you like it.

Leave a Reply

