Delling

Listen to the Exhortation of the Dawn!

Look to this Day for it is Life,

the very Life of Life.

In it’s brief course lie all the Varieties

And Realities of your Existence;

The Bliss of Growth,

The Glory of Action,

The Splendor of Beauty;

(Salutation of the Dawn (Hindu) taken from Pagan Prayer by Mary Ellis Ryan,1913. pg.68)

I’ve been conducting a prayer at dawn lately.  Every other day I get up with the sunrise and prior to turning on any lights in the home welcome the dawn.

Essentially my greeting is to hold my hands up to the light of the rising sun, then touch my palms to my forehead, then to my heart.

Phrasing is usually off the cuff, but something like; First light of day infuse my mind with Intent this day; First light of day may my heart be bright with Wisdom this day: Delling, light of the dawn, bless me with your light.

Each affirmation follows the palms to the dawn posture, followed by touching the palms to head or body, or the corresponding location.

I started this about seven months ago, but only began to do it in a consistent fashion recently.  After watching the TV show 30 days, I found that a Navajo families tradition of running toward the dawn then honoring the sunrise in a similar fashion to what I’ve listed very inspiring. Link to Episode

Leave a Reply

